Queensland Australian of the Year Award recipients announced

Passionate child protection campaigner Hetty Johnston has been named as Queensland’s recipient of the Australian of the Year Award for 2015.

Premier Campbell Newman congratulated Ms Johnston, the founder of child advocacy charity Bravehearts, for her tireless and effective work in campaigning to keep children safe.

“Like Hetty Johnston, the Government wants to make Queensland the safest place to raise a family and Hetty is an energetic and determined campaigner for children’s rights who works hard with her Bravehearts team to give them a voice,” Mr Newman said.

The Premier also congratulated three other community heroes – Fred Hyde, Yassmin Abdel-Magied and Juliette Wright - who were also announced as recipients at Queensland’s Australian of the Year for 2015 awards ceremony in Brisbane this afternoon.

Mr Newman commended all of the award winners for their generosity, passion and commitment.

“All four recipients are truly inspirational people and we should all be proud to count them as part of our Queensland community,” Mr Newman said.

“It is through their selfless, determined and unwavering commitment to their individual fields that they make our society a better place and in turn act as role models for younger and older generations alike.

“Each year these awards provide a nationwide platform of recognition. They not only allow us to celebrate the best and brightest among us, but also provide an opportunity to learn about the remarkable and inspiring stories of Queenslanders making a difference to Australia.

“These recipients are very deserving of their awards and should be proud of their achievements. We are truly humbled by their triumphs, dedication and selflessness.

“On behalf of Queensland, I would like to thank Hetty, Fred, Yassmin and Juliette for their contribution and wish them all the best at the national Australian of the Year Awards, to be held in Canberra on the eve of Australia Day.” 

Queensland’s recipients for the Australian of the Year Award 2015 are:

  • Australian of the Year – Hetty Johnston AM - Child protection activist (Cedar Creek)
  • Senior Australian of the Year – Fred Hyde AM - Philanthropist (Warwick)
  • Young Australian of the Year – Yassmin Abdel-Magied - Engineer/social advocate (Sunnybank Hills)
  • Local Hero - Juliette Wright - Social entrepreneur (Camp Mountain)

More than 2000 nominations were received from the public for the 2015 awards and nominations are already being accepted for the Australian of the Year 2016.

For more information and to nominate someone that makes you proud, visit: www.australianoftheyear.org.au

The Australian of the Year Awards is a National Australia Day Council program and is proudly supported by the Queensland Government


Phone: 07 5406 7100

Suite 1, Corner First & Memorial Aves
Maroochydore QLD 4558